Austrian-born Ghanaian Hollywood Actor Boris Kodjoe is set to the host the biggest football gathering of the new year, Aiteo CAF Awards 2017.

The Awards Gala that will see the decoration of players, officials and administrators for their achievement in 2017 is scheduled for Thursday, 4 January 2018 at the Accra International Conference Centre.

He arrived on Sunday in the company of his actress wife Nicole Ari Parker and their two children.

In an interview with the media who chanced upon him at the Movenpick Ambassador Hotel in Accra, the  “Real Husbands Of Hollywood” actor said that he was excited that he will be hosting the CAF Awards in his native country.

“I am excited that I was selected to host the CAF awards in my native country Ghana. Ghana is a beautiful country and it feels good to be back home ” he said.

Kodjoe will be the only prominent Ghanaian aside the President of the Republic today at the event to have a direct involvement in the activities of the star-studded event after no Ghanaian footballer made the CAF Shortlist for the African Player of the year.

From Abedi Pele, winner of the maiden edition in 1992 through to Riyad Mahrez, crowned in 2016, the winners who represent various generations will be given prominence at the ceremony designed to celebrate the key players of African football.

Others are Nigerian trio, Emmanuel Amuneke, Nwankwo Kanu and Victor Ikpeba, Cameroonian and four-time winner, Samuel Eto’o Fils and compatriot Patrick Mboma, Ivorian Yaya Toure, a four-time winner and countryman Didier Drogba and El Hadji Diouf of Senegal.

The rest are Mustapha Hadji of Morocco, Malian Frederic Kanoute, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon and Togolese Emmanuel Adebayor.

Also, the women are not left out as previous Queens of African football is also pencilled for the biggest assemblage of football stakeholders.

The list of invitees is not only limited to previous winners, but also to other players and officials whose contribution towards the progress of African football cannot be overlooked.

Meanwhile, Egyptian Mohamed Salah, Gabon’s Aubameyang and Sadio Mane of Senegal are the contenders for the prestigious African Player of the Year whilst the trio of Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria), Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa) and Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon) battle it out for the Women’s Player of the Year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *