For violating sections of the Electronics Communications Act (2009), Act 775, some 131 radio stations in the country have been sanctioned by the National Communications Authority (NCA).

A statement issued by the NCA  lists a total of 131 stations which have been affected, including Radio Gold, Atlantis Radio, Okay FM, Radio XYZ, Atinka FM, and Vision 1 FM, indicating that the action ‘follows the completion of a nationwide FM Spectrum Audit conducted this year to determine compliance of Authorisation Holders with their Authorisation conditions and to determine which FM stations were in operations or otherwise”.

13 FM Authorisation Holders have also been issued with reprieves as pertains to their authorisations, while 34 stations have had their authorisations revoked completely for failing to renew their expired licences.

Affected stations have a 30-day ultimatum to “settle their indebtedness or submit the relevant documentations as indicated in the letters sent them by the NCA”.

Click to read the full list of radio stations



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *