Nominations are open for the second edition of People’s Celebrity Awards, formerly GN Bank Awards; the only national awards scheme of its kind in Ghana that allows the general public to solely decide which celebrity should be celebrated within a particular calendar year.  The awards this year cover the period from August 2016 to August 2017.

According to Spyder Lee Entertainment, organizers of the Awards, the nominations’ phase dubbed the “Call To Enter” has begun with nominations closing at exactly 12 noon on Friday, September 22nd, 2017.

Within the period, the general public would be expected to send the names of their favourite celebrities in the fields of showbiz, music, comedy, movies, sports, radio, television etc by dialling *712*8# and following the prompts.

This Year, a new category has been added bringing the total to twenty (20) categories. That is the “Religious Personality of the Year”. This category will offer Ghanaians the opportunity to nominate and vote for the most influential personality who has made substantial and significant impact in religious faith during the period under review.

The other nineteen (19) categories are: Favourite Male Musician, Favourite Female Musician, Favourite Actor, Favourite Actress, Favourite Movie, Favourite Male Radio Presenter, Favourite Female Radio Presenter, Favourite Male TV Presenter, Favourite Female TV Presenter.

The rest include: Favourite Song, Favourite Male Sports Personality, Favourite Female Sports Personality, Favourite Journalist, People’s Celebrity Awards – Favourite Comedian, The Ultimate Lifetime Achievement Award (Individual), Lifetime Achievement Award (Organization), Favourite Social Media Personality and Favourite Music Video Award.  

The second phase of the Awards involves the shortlisting of persons nominated in various categories by the general public. This will be done by the People’s Celebrity Awards Board which will then submit the final nominee list for popular voting.

The ultimate winners will then be announced at the People’s Celebrity Awards Night at the Accra International Conference Centre on November 25, 2017.

All categories except the Lifetime Achievement Awards (Individual & Organization) are open for public voting.

The People’s Celebrity Awards Board comprises distinguished Ghanaians in media, the creative industry and sports. It is chaired by eminent broadcaster, Tommy Annan-Forson. Others members include Kwaku Sintim-Misa, Mary-Ann Eyram Bashan, Nanabanyin Dadson, Ahuma Bosco Ocansey and Nana Poku.

The rest are Osei, Socrates Safo, Patrick Yadaar, Bertrand Nana Turkson, Arnold Asamoah Baidoo and Fred Kyei Mensah.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *