It was a historic night when the first-ever Rush Energy Ghana Dance Awards (REGDA) 2017 was held on Sunday at the National Theatre to honour dance professionals for their immense contribution to the art.

Among the winners during the night were Shidaa Cultural Troupe, Ezuntey Flex, Allo Dancers, Nelly, Ghana Boys (UK), Gasmilla and more. Lecturer at the University of Ghana, Legon School of Performing Arts, 1989 National Dance Championship winner choreographer Mr. Terry Bright Ofosu was also honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

There were breathtaking performances from Divinity Blazers, Worship in Motion, Agape Ministers, Shidaa Cultural Troupe, Allo Dancers, Fakta, Aces, Humble Stars, Black Code, Breaking Boys, Jerry 1, Team Alpha, and salsa duo Lumva & Beatrice.

The REGDA 2017 event was graced by key players in Ghana’s arts & entertainment industry including Hon. Socrates Sarfo, Mr. Terry Bright Ofosu, Tinny, Gasmilla, Epixode, Lord Paper, Executives of the Ghana Dancers Association, representatives from HS Media, organisers of the upcoming Klassic National Dance Championship and more.

The main event was hosted by Kwesi Dope of SET TV and Nigeria’s top dance instructor Ukalina Celine Opuwari, popularly known as UK while the red carpet event was hosted by the enchanting Dede Martey and Nelly. Again, DJ Asante held sway over the turntables to get guests in the groove.


Below is the full list of winners:

Overall Dance Group of the Year – 4 Bent

Best Male Dance Group – 4 Bent

Best Female Dance Group – Kyses Studios

Best Male Dancer – Ezuntey Flex

Best Female Dancer – Mama

Best Azonto Dance Group – One Ghana Dance Crew

Gospel Dance Group of the Year – The Throne Ministers

Best B-Boy – Lil Flip

Best Female Twerker – Nelly

Most Popular Dancer – Freshagidi

Discovery Dance Group of the Year – Breaking Boys Dance Crew

Traditional Dance Troupe of the Year – Shidaa Cultural Troupe

Contemporary Troupe of the Year – Tim Afrik

Afro-Latin Dance Instructor – Rosina

Best Afro-Latin Dance Couple – Hedon and Roxanne

Best Dance Video of the Year – ‘Flavour’ performed by Allo Dancers

Best Dance DJ – Cosby

Best Choreographer – Ezuntey Flex

Best Choreographed Music Video (Musicians & Dancers) – Nyedzilo by Edem ft. Reekado Banks

Best Celebrity Dancer – Gasmilla

International Afro-pop Dance Group of the Year – Ghana Boys (UK)

Best Dance Channel – AGE Channel, Dancetera TV

Lifetime Achievement Award – Terry Bright Ofosu

The Rush Energy Ghana Dance Awards 2017 was powered by Flash Mob Ghana in collaboration with Ceejay Multimedia. Twellium Industrial Company’s Rush Energy Drink was the title sponsor with support from Verna Water, Planet, OranPico, American Cola, Accra Mall Limited and Mr. Candy Ghana. It was also endorsed by the National Commission on Culture and Ghana Dancers Association (GHADA). 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *