Interestingly, the Ghana Music Awards has never produced a female winner.  This year, the 18th edition, dancehall singer MzVee looks t change that. She’s up against EL, Stonebwoy, Sarkodie, Joe Mettle, and AMG Business act Medikal. Will she break the jinx?

The awards was instituted in 2000, and had highlife veteran walking off as the Artist of the Year. The list that has followed Lumba for the coveted award has been tremendous and constantly hardly-fought:

Kojo Antwi (2001)



Lord Kenya (2002)
Kontihene (2003)
V.I.P (2004, 2011)


Obour (2005)
Ofori Amponsah (2006)
Samini (2007)
Kwaw Kese (2008)
Okyeame Kwame (2009)
Sarkodie (2010, 2012)


R2Bees (2013)
Shatta Wale (2014)
Stonebwoy (2015)


EL (2016)

VIP (now VVIP), and Sarkodie have won the crown twice. EL and Stonebwoy look to match that feat tonight.

Nearly all  the nominees for Artist of the Year would be making history should they walk home with the award tonight. For EL, he would be the firs to win it back-to-back, Sarkodie would be picking it for an unprecedented third time, MzVee would become the first female artist to earn it, and Joe Mettle, the first Gospel act to win it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *