Th Musicians Union of Ghana has released a list of nominees for his year’s edition of the prestigious Ghana Music Honours.

Set up in 2012 by the Musicians Union of Ghana in 2012, the scheme looks to “cultivate the understanding, appreciation and advancement of the contribution of recorded music to the Ghanaian society; from the artistic and technical legends of the past to the musical breakthroughs of future generations of music professionals”, an official statement explains.

Reigning VGMA Artist of the Year E.L, Sarkodie, Kwame Yeboah’s Ohia Beye Ya Band, veteran turntablist DJ Black, Akwaboah,  Becca, Bisa K.Dei, Kwabena Kwabena, Guru, Samini, Kofi Kinaata, Stonebwoy among a host of others are all in the running for various categories.

Parading the very best of performers on the main night, honours are awarded ( an academy of fellow musicians and one popular category voted for by the general public) to deserving recipients in recognition of their outstanding achievement in the music industry.

Categories for this year’s event include Best Band Honour, Best DJ Honour, Afro Pop Artist Honour, Hiplife Artist Honour, Highlife Artist Honour Reggae/Dancehall Artist Honour, Gospel Artist Honour, Music Producer Honour,  Best Music Video Honour,  Most Promising Act Honour, and Best Male Artist Honour.

The others are Best Female Artist Honour, Best Group Honour, People’s Choice Artist Honour, Traditional Music Honour, Music Industry Development Honour,  Music Promoter Honour, Evergreen Highlife Artist Honour,  Evergreen Hiplife Artist Honour,  Evergreen Gospel Artist Honour, and President’s Choice Honour.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *