AICC – Celebrated broadcaster, and entrepreneur Nathaniel Kwabena Anokye Adisi, popularly known as Bola Ray last night, was crowned the overall winner at the maiden edition of the GN Bank Awards.

Bola Ray won the award for Celebrity of the year. This was after he had won Best Male Radio Presenter.

“I dedicate this to the Almighty God, Jehovah God,” he told a fairly impressive audience at the Accra International Conference Centre.

“To my lovely wife, Dorcas Anokye Adisi. We’ve been through a lot to get here. And also to Dr Kwabena Duffuor and his Wife Mrs Akosua Duffuor as well as the entire EIB team, especially those at Starr 103.5FM, Mr. and Mrs. Nduom…”

Saturday’s event saw performances from Obaapa Chritsy (Christiana Love), Shatta Wale, Joyce Blessing, Wiyaala, Raquel, Efya and Amakye Dede. It also had DJs Black and Tim Westwood on the turntables.


The GN Bank Awards, formerly trading as GN Bank People’s choice Awards Ghana, was powered by Spyder Lee Entertainment.

The cross-discipline scheme awarded persons in music, broadcasting, movies, sports and comedy among other sectors within the entertainment industry.

It was purely decided by the general public who sent in sms texts to choose and pick their winners.

The event, which returns next year, was fully sponsored by GN Bank.

See full list of winners below

Male Musician Of The Year
Shatta Wale
Female Musician Of The Year
Gifty Osei
Male Actor Of The Year
James Gardner
Female Actor Of The Year
Juliet Ibrahim
Movie Of The Year
Obroni Hiani (Sky Orange Productions)
Child Star Of The Year
Nana Yaa Amoakoaa (Kids Icon)
Song Of The Year
Mampi by Vybrant Faya
Male Sports Personality Of The Year
Asamoah Gyan (Black Stars Captain)
Comedian Of The Year
Baba Spirit (Rainbow Radio)
Entertainment Journalist/Writer Of The Year
Halifax Ansah Addo (News One)
Male Radio Presenter Of The Year
Bola Ray (Starr Drive – Starr FM)
Female Radio Presenter Of The Year
Akumaa Mama Zimbi (Odo Ahomaso – Adom FM)
Male TV Presenter Of The Year
Kojo Frempong (Boys Boys – Viasat 1)
Female TV Presenter Of The Year
Nana Yaa Brefo (Badwam – Adom TV)
Favourite Celebrity Of The Year
Bola Ray
GN Bank Corporate Honorarium
(Lifetime Achievement Award)
M.T.N Ghana (Telecommunication)
D.K Poison (Veteran Boxer)

By: Obed Boafo/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *