When a cluster of stars are put under one roof, there is no doubt that there will be loads of ‘fabulousity’ to keep up; sparkle, style, elegance, glamour, glitz and a good time.

And that is the expectation when the second Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards(AMVCA) is hosted at the Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos, Nigeria on Saturday, March 8 2014.

The awards event sponsored by Amstel Malta  will bring together some of the biggest stars in Africa as deserving players in the continent’s make-believe industry are rewarded for their hard work.

Leading the nominations this year is Ghanaian film Contract produced by Yvonne Okoro followed by Nigeria’sLiving Funeral with eight, Tanzania’s Siri Ya Mtungi with seven, Kenya’s Nairobi Half Life with seven and LastFlight to Abuja with six.

In the hotly contested category of Best Movie are Last Flight to Abuja, Contract, Living Funeral, Flower Girl andAwakening.

At the maiden edition last year, Ghana’s Jackie Appiah was adjudged the Best Actress(Drama).


This year, eight Ghanaians have been nominated in various categories. They are Shirley Frimpong Manso, Yvonne Okoro, Jackie Appiah, Ken Attoh, Majid Michel, Herty Owusu, Chris Attoh and Frank Arase.

Shirley Frimpong Manso received the highest number of nominations -Best Editor(Contract), Best Art Director for both Contract and Adams Apples Miniseries Parts 1 and 2, Best Writer(Contract) which she shares with Herty Owusu, Best Movie Director(Contract), Best Movie(Contract) jointly with Yvonne Okoro and Ken Attoh.

Jackie is in the race again but this time  for Best Actress(Comedy) for Cheaters, Majid Michel, Best Actor Drama for House of Gold and Chris Attoh, Best Actor Drama for Flower Girl.

Frank Rajah Arase has been nominated in three categories namely Best Art Director for The Price, Best Movie(Drama) for both The Price and Groom’s Bride.

This year, a total of 28 awards in 26 categories will be awarded ranging from acting and directing to scriptwriting and cinematography, with nine of the categories being voted for by the viewers. Voting closes today, March 3.

Other areas in which honours will be given are editing, make-up, sound, lighting, including the most anticipated of the whole ceremony, the Industry Merit Award and the Trailblazer of The Year Award.

Credit: Graphic Showbiz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *