Veteran highlife practitioner, Smart Nkansah has been named as chairman for a committee convened to oversee upcoming elections of the Musicians’ Union of Ghana (MUSIGA), which currently has Bice “Obour” Osei Kuffour as president.

Other members of the committee include former MUSIGA president Diana Hopeson as secretary, Rev. Dr Mary Ghansah, Lawyer Jonathan Cudjoe and musician Enoch Nana Yaw Oduro- Agyei (Trigmatic). They have been placed in charge of the nomination process, as well as conducting credible elections in collaboration with the Electoral Commission of Ghana.

Aspirants for the post of president of the union will pay GhC2,500 as filing fees, whist vice president aspirants will pay GhC2,000.  General secretary hopefuls will pay GhC1,500. Every other aspirant will pay  GhC1,000.

Below is a timetable of the process, which includes the June 16 general elections in all regional capitals, as well as an August 27 inauguration:

1. Call for nominations – March 27

2. Close of nominations – April 17

3. Vetting of candidates – April 26

4. Exhibition of voters’ register – April 29

5. Voting in all regional capitals – June 26

6. The announcement of results – June 26

7. Inauguration of new executives – August 27


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.