3 out of the 500 participating schools have made it to the final of this year’s National Science and Maths Quiz.

The final contest, between Adisadel College, St. Peter’s SHS, and West Africa SHS (who are sudden favourites after defeating defending champions, Prempeh College), is currently underway at the National Theatre in Accra —which is hosting the ceremony for the 2nd year running.

Dr Elsie Effah Kaufmann, quiz mistress since 2006, is umpire for this year’s edition.

Past winners of the prestigious competition include the Presbyterian Boys’ Secondary School (PRESEC), who have lifted the trophy five times. Prempeh College has won it four times, while Opoku Ware School, a seven-time finalist, has annexed the crown twice. The Achimota school has also won the crown once.

Contestants at the final will earn GH¢15 per point.

Organisers have also instituted a “substitution system” where schools are permitted to make one change before the end of the “Problem of the Day” segment.

Watch live, proceedings at the 25th National Science and Maths Quiz :


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.