CNN International and MultiChoice this week officially launched the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2015 Awards.  The competition for African nationals based on the continent welcomes entries from journalists creating content targeting an African audience. 2015 marks the 20th anniversary of the African Journalist Awards.

Tony Maddox, Executive Vice President and Managing Director of CNN International, said: “It’s with immense pride that we celebrate the 20th anniversary of the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards. Twenty years of encouraging excellence in journalism across the continent has made these the very best awards honoring the journalistic profession in Africa. I’ve witnessed first-hand the tremendous growth in stature and prestige of the competition, and 2015 promises to deliver another year of outstanding work.”

Tim Jacobs, CEO MultiChoice Africa, said, “We continue to be amazed by the extraordinary talent of our continents journalists, and remain committed to contributing to the development of media in Africa. These awards have reached the remarkable milestone and are recognized as the most prestigious media awards on the continent; this celebration parallels our own celebration of 20 years of MultiChoice operations in many countries. We look forward to another year of great stories which showcase journalistic excellence.”

Greg Beitchman, Vice President, Content and Partnerships, CNN International, said: “CNN is committed to championing and supporting journalism through training schemes, the CNN Journalism Fellowship programme, awards and working closely with our affiliates worldwide. No more is this commitment more apparent than at the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards. Through our partnership with MultiChoice we feel privileged to play our part in helping new talent across the continent thrive in an age where journalism about and for Africa is as important as it ever has been.”

Kenyan Joseph Methenge was awarded the top prize at the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2014 Awards ceremony.His work, ‘Images of Terror, which appeared in Kenyan daily print newspaper The Standard documented the moments of terror experienced by Westgate Mall shoppers in Kenya, when the mall was attacked by unidentified gunmen in September 2013. It was chosen from entries spanning 38 nations across the African continent. Since the first Awards in 1995, the competition has grown in size and status to become Africa’s most prestigious media event.

In 2014, a ‘Highlights Programme’ of the ceremony, held in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, was broadcast across Africa, plus the UK, USA and the Caribbean.

Open to journalists working in any medium, this year the competition will recognize excellence in the following categories:

·         Culture Award

·         Dow Technology & Innovation Reporting Award

·         Economics & Business Award

·         Features Award

·         Francophone General News Award

·         GE Energy & Infrastructure Award

·         Mohamed Amin Photographic Award

·         MSD Health & Medical Award

·         Portuguese Language General News Award

·         Press Freedom Award

·         Sport Reporting Award

·         The African Development Bank Environment Award

·         The Coca-Cola Company News Impact Award

From these category winners, an independent judging panel choose the overall winner – The CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2015.

Finalists in the 2015 competition will participate in a finalists’ programme that will include a media forum and networking opportunities with senior journalists, editors, business leaders and media owners from across the continent, culminating in a gala awards ceremony later in the year.

The CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2015 will have the opportunity to participate in the CNN Journalism Fellowship at CNN Headquarters in Atlanta.

Once again this year, the competition has become even easier for journalists to enter, with submissions being made via the entry form website

Notes to Editors

*About Features Award (*NEW*)

Covering any topic or subject matter, this category recognizes excellence in long-form reporting and can include, but is not limited to, documentaries, extended news stories or a series of articles.

*About Dow Technology & Innovation Reporting Award

Economies, communities and individuals are all impacted by innovations that are shaping our lives, with technological advancements affecting every aspect of our day. This award recognises journalists excelling in reporting about technology and innovation issues and initiatives on the continent.

African Journalist Awards Social Media:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *