The World Cup may be over, but world class football continues on the World of Champions with a host of pre-season friendlies involving clubs from all the major European leagues.

Over the next five weeks leading to the start of the league season, SuperSport will broadcast pre-season friendlies and tours involving heavyweight teams Liverpool, Manchester United, Barcelona, Bayern Munich, Napoli, Arsenal, Borussia Dortmund, Real Madrid, Chelsea and Atletico Madrid.

As with every World Cup year, the transfer market experiences a boom as clubs outbid each other for standout performers and hidden gems revealed during the month-long spectacle.

This year is no exception as big money deals have been concluded for the likes of Alexis Sanchez of Chile, Uruguay’s Luis Suarez and Mario Mandzukic of Croatia. A bidding war for the signatures of Colombian diamond James Rodriguez, Germany’s star man Toni Kroos, Chile’s midfield kingpin Arturo Vidal and Argentina’s rock at the back, Ezequiel Garay, is in full motion.

Pre-season tournaments and friendlies play an integral part in the integration of player to his new club and SuperSport’s extensive coverage will offer viewers an early opportunity to see their club’s new signings in action before the season proper gets underway.

Fixture list

Wednesday, July 16
Brondby vs Liverpool

Saturday, July 19
Preston North End vs Liverpool
Recreativo Huelva vs Barcelona
Seattle Sounders vs Tottenham Hotspur

Thursday, July 24
Toronto FC vs Tottenham Hotspur
Liverpool vs AS Roma
Kansas City vs Manchester City
LA Galaxy vs Manchester United

Friday, July 25
FC Porto vs Barcelona (Deco’s Testimonial)

Saturday, July 26
New York Red Bull vs Arsenal

Sunday, July 27
Chicago Fire vs Tottenham Hotspur

Friday, August 1
Club Deportivo Guadalajara vs Bayern Munich

Saturday, August 2
Nice vs Barcelona

Sunday, August 3
Werder Bremen vs Chelsea

Wednesday, August 6
Napoli vs Barcelona

Thursday, August 7
MLS All-Stars vs Bayern Munich

Saturday, August 9
HJK Helsinki vs Barcelona
Tottenham Hotspur vs Schalke

Sunday, August 10
Liverpool vs Borussia Dortmund
Ferencvárosi Torna Club vs Chelsea

Tuesday, August 12
Manchester United vs Valencia

Saturday, August 16
Real Madrid vs Fiorentina

Monday, August 18
Barcelona vs Leon Guanajuato (Joan Gamper Trophy)

Wednesday, August 20
Real Madrid vs Atletico Madrid (Supercopa)

Wednesday, August 27
Atletico Madrid vs Real Madrid (Supercopa)

SUBMITTED

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *